is loading

Daniel Meier – Commander Things

The name Daniel Meier is not an international household name in skateboarding. Maybe Penny Commander rings a bell, but in general Daniel has never really been in the spotlight - despite obvious skills. Being voted the winner of a PJ Ladd line contest by PJ himself and qualifying for the American finals at a manny contest hosted by Red Bull says something. But Daniel never wanted to put pressure on himself but rather wanted to live his skateboarding freely according to his own taste. So it never really worked out with the big sponsordeals, but he prefers to skate at his local spots on his own anyway (even if the Penny supermarket parking lot has been torn down in the meantime) and prefers the golden VX era over today's HD releases (besides this new part). Daniel plays skateboarding by his own rules and has built a world that he likes and that suits him. We give you a little insight with this interview and his new part.

Photos: Sebastian Adam

You live in Leipzig, what's the scene like there and who do you skate with?

I've lived here since 2014 and the scene is mixed. There are many cliques and crews that all more or less do their thing. But if you just look at the Leipzig Go Skateboarding Day clips of the last few years, you quickly realize that everyone here can also function as one family. In late summer 2019, for example, we had an event called "Destroy Like Roy" in the city. Similar to the concept of Thrasher KOTR, the whole city was besieged by skaters from all corners of central Germany for a weekend. Nothing but good vibes. The DIY spot culture in Leipzig can also be seen and especially in recent months you can feel a lot of fresh air. The new generation is motivated. I also see more and more girls and women skating on the streets. I'm glad to see that so many people are getting into skating.

"They offered to take me on team trips and to shoot photos for mags. That may all sound quite harmless and actually tempting. But for me, in my world, it was too restrictive."

You had the Penny Commander parts where you ride at the local penny market. In your 2013 Lockdown Welcome Part you only ride in a small rural skatepark, where you use the miniramp as a manny pad (and completely kill it). What is important to you when choosing a spot and what do you like about such spots?

I grew up in Staßfurt, a small town near Magdeburg. Among other things, there was this infamous Penny parking lot there. I've been riding it since I started skating (2003). I think that explains why I'm not too picky when it comes to skate spots. You just skate mediocre surface and curbs for years and have become friends with it at some point. That's why I don't make a difference, whether it's a village mini-ramp or Stalin Plaza. Both make me happy. But of course I have my preferences when it comes to obstacles. I love ledges and manny pads. Here in Leipzig, I like the Moritzbastei the most. The spot has a kind of plaza feeling and definitely has its rough edges. That makes it very interesting for me. There are steps, curbs and a lot of flat. And there is a lot of traffic at any time of day. Apart from the obstacles, it's important to me that the environment is right and the vibes are chill. I like spots where I feel unobserved and I can do my thing. I also like to go skating alone sometimes, it helps me to be undisturbed. Internationally, I would have loved to spend a month in Lovepark. Preferably in the early millennium era. But the dream is now unfortunately burst.

Back to the lockdown part. The rock to fakie at the end looks like you actually never rode the miniramp like a mini. How about the transition skills?

I feel uncomfortable on slopes. That doesn't just include handrails and hubbas, but also transitions and quarters. Banks still work, they're more predictable. [laughs] That's why it never appealed to me to ride mini-ramps. I already ask myself from time to time how I'm going to survive my skate retirement later on, without a mini-ramp.

You mentioned the millennium era. I think you've watched "Fully Flared" or "Wonderful, Horrible, Life" a few times. What do you like about the skating in it and what current stuff do you watch?

Yeah, I've watched those a few times. But my absolute favorite video from that era is and remains "Yeah Right". I'm still a huge fan of that era. I'm very nostalgic when it comes to skate videos. From 1998 to 2005, I think there were so many great videos made during that period. Those were just different times back then, pre-youtube, pre-social media. The vibe was different. You could take your time, everything was more decelerated. The Americans were a mystery for us Europeans. Beautiful skating and aesthetics stood for themselves. That's what makes this video still seem timeless. I'm moved anew every time I watch the Death In Vegas montage in "Yeah Right". It almost feels like time travel. Thankfully, a lot of people are feeling more drawn to those vibes again today. Big pants, fat beats, rattling bunches of keys. Currently, I'm really into watching indie videos. Diego Meek and Daniel Dent come to mind as creative minds. Sabotage's stuff is very good for me. And the current Helas "Fellas" video gave me a lot. But I'm getting good at HD videos now too. The Godspeed video was a feast for the eyes and ears.

Sw Heelflip 01 Foto By Sebastian Adam

Switch Heelflip

You once won the PJ Ladd Line Contest and were personally selected by PJ as the winner. What was that like and what did you win?

That was of course an indescribable thing. I never thought I would have any chance internationally. Just thinking about the guys from the US. After the victory I had my, as they say, "15 minutes of fame". Again, I would like to thank Thomas Lübke, who fought with me and filmed this line. Without him this would never have come about. The prize distribution then unfortunately developed into a small disaster, which then finally ended with a happy end. A package with among other things 12 PJ Boards was promised. At that time, only six of them reached me, until three years ago, when I tried to inform PJ Ladd personally. And lo and behold, two weeks after I contacted him via Instagram, a package with six Plan B boards was already waiting on my doorstep. The sender was PJ himself. A cool guy!

You won the Manny Mania, but I don't think you took the trip to the USA. What was that like?

Of course, that was also a highlight for me. I knew that manuals were my strength, but I would never have expected to win the German final. Unfortunately, I had never taken a plane trip before. I suffered from a strong fear of flying. And since I was unfortunately not allowed to take a companion of my choice with me, I didn't feel up to the challenge at the time. I flew for the first time five years later and have never had any problems with flying since.

Were you considering trying it in the U.S. at that point?

I can still remember how pissed off my dad was at the time that I passed up this opportunity. It could well have been that I would have felt even more pushed there and would have gotten everything out of myself. If I remember correctly, Youness Amrani - who eventually won the World Finals - was able to use the Manny Mania Contest to attract a lot of attention from the Americans. But I was very quickly satisfied with my decision not to participate. Because I always wanted and still want to preserve my freedom when skating. And that would have possibly gone down the drain in America under such circumstances. So I have not regretted my decision. Only as a skate tourist I would like to travel there for three or four weeks and have a closer look at the beautiful schoolyards. And once do a manual at Pier 7, that would also be a dream.

"I came to the conclusion that I never want to be told by anyone how and where to skate."

I found a Trap clip of you. Are you on Trap or how long were you on?

It started quite early back then. In the spring of 2008, an email came flying into my inbox out of the blue. The sender was Richie Löffler. I think he had seen a few videos on my YouTube channel. Then, for the time being, a few flow packages arrived at my house. I was mega happy, of course. That was my first time getting boards for free. That went on for about a year. Then we kind of lost track of each other. Until 2010, when my victory at the Manny Mania in Berlin attracted more attention again. Richie approached me again and offered to get me on the team. During the following year I was listed as an amateur on the Trap team page for a short time, was always welcome in the Trap team booth in Hamburg and could stock up in the warehouse. Cool times. In the spring of 2012, however, it became too serious for me. They offered to take me on team trips and to shoot photos for mags. That may all sound quite harmless and actually tempting. But for me, in my world, it was too restrictive. So since 2012, I've been more or less sponsorless happy. Until Etnies got in touch last year. Richie had then later contacted me via Instagram and kindly offered me a few decks for free. So it was a purely family thing with no obligations. I have a flow deal with Etnies since last summer.

Sw Bs 180 02 Foto by Sebastian Adam

Switch Backside 180

How did the new part come about?

Actually, I've been filming for two larger VX parts for several years now. These are two projects of my heart. One is the long-term project "Listen to Lé Strasbourg" (we've been filming for this video since 2009) by and with the crew I founded back then together with homies from my hometown. And then there would be a homie video from my new home in Leipzig. The HD format hasn't quite convinced me yet. A well-filmed VX video simply flashes me much more in most cases. The vibes are different. That alone stems from the fact that this skate sound is captured so uniquely by the VX. In any case, I've been on film missions with Christopher (Schübel) for a few years now. He's a great skate buddy who always motivates and encourages you to try new things and go on trips. With him you don't stand still but develop further. Since Christopher mostly needs HD footage for his parts, I left the VX at home. I was also super happy when I saw that a clip I filmed with him became his part-ender in the Downright video. It often happened that after we got a clip of Christopher, I still had the desire to perform a trick for the cam. So I have accumulated some HD clips over the last years. Our filming missions became more and more intensive and the trips led us to some skate capitals in Europe: Milan, Prague, Barcelona. Sometime during the last year I got the idea to just cut all the HD stuff together and publish it. So sometime at the end of summer last year I decided to step on the gas again and this time collect HD footage specifically and with ideas in mind.

Christopher and you both have incredible tech skills and sometimes one would have liked to see more of you. But from what you've said so far, skateboarding has always been more of a side story for you, right?

Thanks for the flowers. I've had touch points with sponsors, flow deals and contests here and there in the first ten years I've been skating. During this series of experiences I came to the conclusion that I never want to be told by anyone how and where to skate. I always remembered what a great feeling of freedom it was when I first stood on this board as a teenager. And I just don't want to let that feeling be taken away from me. That's why I became a skater, that's why I want to stay one. Because of the freedom. And of course, I don't want to accuse anyone here of any kind of deprivation of freedom. I have always felt very well taken care of, with all the people who have supported me over the years. But in your head it changes something when you get free stuff. The own conscience tells you to deliver for what you’ve got.

"There is still, even years after the reunification, an imbalance between East and West in the scene."

The song in the new part is called "Underdog." Do you see yourself in the role of the underdog or is that even one you like to be in?

I see myself more in the role of the underdog and also feel quite comfortable in this skin. I think that's generally one of those things here in East Germany. If you want to make it in the German scene, you have to move to the West or to Berlin. Otherwise, as an East German skater, it will be more difficult to draw attention to yourself. There is still, even years after the reunification, an imbalance between East and West in the scene. I even count a skater like Christopher Schübel among the underdogs. The boy is so blatantly talented and stylish on the board, but since he's a child of the East and humble, it took a Mike Carroll and Rick Howard to personally spot him at the Bänke spot and give him the sponsorship deal he's deserved for years.

You skate a Lidl parking lot in the new part. What happened to Penny?

Unfortunately, the legendary Penny parking lot has been gone for several years. It had to give way to a construction project. Unfortunately, I also have to realize that the scene in my hometown has virtually died out. There is no longer a place to go, no main spot. The skate parks are now all rocked down.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
PRV

RASSVET - LILIAN

Mar 19, 2021
NXT

Rave Skateboards - Zen

Mar 18, 2021

is loading

Daniel Meier – Commander Things

Der Name Daniel Meier ist keiner der “household names” in Skateboarding. Vielleicht klingelt es etwas lauter bei Penny Commander, aber ganz allgemein ist Daniel nie so wirklich im Rampenlicht gestanden – trotz offensichtlicher Skills. Wenn man von PJ Ladd persönlich zum Gewinner seines Line Contests gewählt wird und sich bei einem von Red Bull veranstaltetn Manny Contest für das Amerikafinale qualifiziert, sagt das schon was. Aber Daniel wollte sich nie Druck machen sondern Skateboarding lieber nach eigenem Geschmack frei ausleben. So ist das zwar mit den dicken Sponsorendeals nie richtig was geworden, aber lieber geht er eh auch mal alleine an seine Local Spots (auch wenn der Penny Parkplatz mittlerweile abgerissen wurde) und zieht die goldene VX Ära den heutigen HD Veröffentlichungen vor. Daniel spielt Skateboarding nach seinen eigenen Regeln und hat sich eine Welt zusammengebaut, die ihm gefällt und zu ihm passt. Wir geben euch mit diesem Interview und seinem neuen Part (der jetzt doch HD ist) einen kleinen Einblick.

Photos: Sebastian Adam


Du wohnst in Leipzig, wie ist die Szene dort und mit wem skatest du?

Ich wohne seit 2014 hier und die Szene ist bunt gemischt. Es gibt viele Cliquen und Crews, die alle mehr oder weniger ihr Ding machen. Wenn man sich jedoch nur mal die Leipziger Go Skateboarding Day Clips der letzten Jahre anschaut, erkennt man aber auch schnell, das hier auch alle als eine Familie funktionieren können. Im Spätsommer 2019 hatten wir z.B. einen Event namens „Destroy Like Roy“ in der Stadt. Ähnlich dem Konzept des Thrasher KOTR wurde die ganze Stadt ein Wochenende lang von Skatern aus allen Ecken Mitteldeutschlands belagert. Nothing but good vibes. Die DIY Spotkultur in Leipzig kann sich auch sehen lassen und gerade in den letzten Monaten spürt man vor allem viel frischen Wind. Der Nachwuchs ist fleißig am Start und motiviert. Ich sehe auch immer mehr Mädels und Frauen auf den Straßen skaten. Es freut mich zu sehen, dass so viele Leute Bock auf skaten bekommen.

"Man bot mir an, mich auf Teamtrips mitzunehmen und Fotos für Mags zu schießen. Das mag alles ganz harmlos und eigentlich auch verlockend klingen. Aber für mich war es dann, in meiner Welt, zu einengend"

Du hattest die Penny Commander Parts, wo du am lokalen Penny Markt fährst. In deinem 2013er Lockdown Welcome Part fährst du nur in einem kleinen Skatepark an einem Dorfrand, wo du die Miniramp als Mannypad nutzt und komplett zerlegst. Was ist dir bei der Spotwahl wichtig und was gefällt dir an solchen Spots?

Ich bin ja in Staßfurt aufgewachsen, einer kleinen Stadt nähe Magdeburg. Dort gab es dann unter anderem auch diesen berüchtigten Penny Parkplatz. Den fahre ich quasi schon seit ich mit Skaten angefangen habe (2003). Ich denke mal, das erklärt auch, warum ich nicht allzu picky bin, was die Spotwahl angeht. Man ist einfach jahrelang mittelmäßigen Belag und Bordsteinkaten gefahren und hat sich damit irgendwann angefreundet. Von daher mach ich auch keinen großen Hehl draus, ob es jetzt nun eine Dorf-Minirampe oder der Stalin Plaza ist. Beides macht mich happy. Dennoch habe ich natürlich meine Vorlieben, was Obstacles angeht. Ich liebe Curbs und Mannypads. Hier in Leipzig gefällt mir die Moritzbastei am meisten. Der Spot hat eine Art von Plaza-Feeling und auf jeden Fall seine Ecken und Kanten. Das macht ihn für mich sehr interessant. Es gibt Stufen, Curbs und viel Flat. Und zu jeder Tageszeit ist dort ordentlich Traffic. Ansonsten ist mir noch wichtig, dass die Umgebung stimmt und die Vibes chillig sind. Ich mag Spots, an denen ich mich unbeobachtet fühle und ich mein Ding machen kann. Ich gehe gerne auch mal alleine Skaten, da hilft es mir, wenn ich ungestört bin. International gesehen, hätte ich super gerne mal einen Monat im Lovepark verbracht. Am liebsten in der Early Millenium Ära. Aber der Traum ist ja nun leider geplatzt.

Kurz zurück zum Lockdown Part. Der Rock to Fakie am Ende sieht aus, als wärst du die Miniramp tatsächlich nie wie eine Mini gefahren. Wie steht’s mit den Transition Skills?

Ich habe eine unergründliche Ehrfurcht vor Schrägen. Da zählen nicht nur Handrails und Hubbas dazu, sondern auch Transitions und Quarters. Banks gehen noch, die sind berechenbarer. [lacht] Von daher hat es mich auch nie gereizt, Minirampe zu fahren. Ich frage mich schon jetzt immer mal wieder, wie ich später mal meine Skaterente überleben soll, so ganz ohne Minirampe.

Und nochmal bei der Millenium Ära eingehakt. Ich denke “Fully Flared” oder “Wonderful, Horrible, Life” hast du ein paar mal geschaut. Was findest du gut an dem Skaten darin und welche aktuellen Sachen schaust du dir an?

Ja, die habe ich schon öfter mal geschaut. Aber mein absolutes Lieblingsvideo aus dieser Ära ist und bleibt „Yeah Right“. Nach wie vor bin ich ein riesen Fan dieser Ära. Ich bin da sehr nostalgisch, wenn es um Skatevideos geht. 1998 bis 2005. In diesem Zeitraum entstanden meiner Meinung nach so viele geniale Videos. Das waren damals einfach andere Zeiten, pre-youtube, pre-social media. Der Vibe war ein anderer. Man konnte sich Zeit lassen, alles war entschleunigter. Die Amis waren ein Mysterium für uns Europäer. Schönes Skaten und Ästhethik standen für sich. Genau das lässt diese Video ja nach wie vor zeitlos erscheinen. Ich bin jedes Mal von neuem gerührt, wenn ich die Death In Vegas-Montage im „Yeah Right“ schaue. Es fühlt sich beinahe wie eine Zeitreise an. Zum Glück fühlen sich viele Leute heute wieder vermehrt diesen Vibes hingezogen. Big Pants, fette Beats, klappernde Schlüsselbunde. Aktuell schaue ich sehr gerne Indie Videos. Diego Meek und Daniel Dent fallen mir da als kreative Köpfe ein. Die Sachen von Sabotage taugen mir sehr. Und das aktuelle Helas „Fellas“ Video hat mir viel gegeben. Aber ich komme mittlerweile auch gut an HD Videos ran. Das Godspeed Video war ein Schmaus für Augen und Ohren.

Sw Heelflip 01 Foto By Sebastian Adam

Switch Heelflip

Du hast mal den PJ Ladd Line Contest gewonnen und wurdest von ihm persönlich als Sieger ausgewählt. Wie war das und was hast du da gewonnen?

Das war natürlich ein unbeschreibliches Ding. Ich hätte niemals gedacht, international irgendeine Chance zu haben. Allein schon wenn ich da nur an die Amis denke. Nach dem Sieg hatte ich dann meine, wie man so schön sagt, „15 Minuten Fame“. Auch hier nochmal Danke an dieser Stelle an Thomas Lübke. Der mit mir gekämpft und diese Line gefilmt hat. Ohne ihn wäre das niemals zustande gekommen. Die “Gewinnauschüttung“ entwickelte sich dann leider zu einem kleinen Desaster, welches dann aber schlussendlich mit einem Happy End ausging. Versprochen wurde ein Paket mit u.A. „12 PJ Boards“. Davon erreichten mich damals nur sechs Stück, bis ich dann vor drei Jahren aus Jux den Versuch gewagt habe, PJ Ladd persönlich davon in Kenntnis zu setzen. Und siehe da, zwei Wochen nachdem ich ihn per Instagram kontaktiert hatte, stand auch schon ein Paket mit sechs Plan B Brettern von meiner Haustür. Absender war PJ höchstpersönlich. Eine coole Socke!

Die Manny Mania hast du ja auch gewonnen, aber ich glaube den Trip in die USA bist du nicht angetreten. Wie war das damals?

Auch das war natürlich ein krasser Höhepunkt für mich. Ich wusste, dass Mannys meine Stärke waren, hätte aber auch hier niemals damit gerechnet, das Deutschlandfinale zu gewinnen. Leider hatte ich bis dato noch nie eine Flugreise unternommen. Ich litt unter starker Flugangst. Und da ich leider keine Begleitperson meiner Wahl mitnehmen durfte, sah ich mich dieser Challenge damals auch nicht gewachsen. Ich flog fünf Jahre später zum ersten mal und habe seitdem nie Probleme mit dem Fliegen gehabt.

Hast du zu dem Zeitpunkt überlegt, es in den USA zu versuchen?

Ich kann mich noch gut erinnern, wie angepisst mein Dad damals war, dass ich mir diese Chance habe entgehen lassen. Es hätte auch gut sein können, dass ich mich dort noch mehr gepusht gefühlt und alles aus mir rausgeholt hätte. Wenn ich mich recht entsinne, hat Youness Amrani - der ja schlussendlich die World Finals gewonnen hat - den Manny Mania Contest damals für sich als Sprungbrett nutzen können und bei den Amis ordentlich für Aufmerksamkeit gesorgt. Aber auch hier konnte ich mich sehr schnell mit meiner Entscheidung, nicht teilzunehmen, zufrieden geben. Denn ich wollte und will mir ja stets die Freiheit beim Skaten bewahren. Und die wäre in Amerika unter solchen Umständen möglicherweise flöten gegangen. Ich habe meine Entscheidung also nicht bereut. Lediglich als Skate-Tourist würde ich dort schon gerne mal für drei, vier Wochen hinreisen und mir die schönen Schulhöfe näher anschauen. Und einmal einen Manny am Pier 7 machen, das wäre auch ein Traum.

"Ich bin zu dem Entschluss gekommen, dass ich mir niemals von irgendjemandem sagen lassen möchte, wie und wo ich zu skaten habe."

Ich hab einen Trap Clip von dir gefunden. Bist du denn auf Trap oder wie lange warst du drauf?

2008 kam aus heiterem Himmel eine Mail, Absender: Richie Löffler. Ich glaube, er hatte damals ein paar Videos auf meinem Youtube Kanal gesehen. Dann kamen erstmal nur ein paar Flow-Pakete ins Haus. Ich war natürlich mega happy. Das war mein erstes Mal, dass ich kostenlos Boards bekommen habe. Das lief ca. ein Jahr. Dann hatten wir uns irgendwie aus den Augen verloren. Bis dann 2010 mein Sieg beim Manny Mania in Berlin wieder für mehr Aufmerksamkeit sorgte. Richie kam erneut auf mich zu und bot mir an, mich ins Team zu holen. Im Laufe des darauffolgenden Jahres war ich dann auch mal kurz als Amateur auf der Teampage von Trap gelistet, war immer herzlich Willkommen in der Hamburger Teambude von Trap und konnte mich im Warehouse eindecken. Coole Zeiten auf jeden Fall. Im Frühjahr 2012 wurde es mir dann allerdings zu ernst. Man bot mir an, mich auf Teamtrips mitzunehmen und Fotos für Mags zu schießen. Das mag alles ganz harmlos und eigentlich auch verlockend klingen. Aber für mich war es dann, in meiner Welt, zu einengend. Seit 2012 bin ich also quasi sponsorlos glücklich. Bis sich dann letztes Jahr Etnies gemeldet hat, mit denen habe ich seit letzten Sommer einen Flow-Deal.

Sw Bs 180 02 Foto by Sebastian Adam

Switch Backside 180

Wie kam es zum neuen Part?

Eigentlich filme ich jetzt seit mehreren Jahren für zwei größere VX Parts in jeweils einem Full Length. Das sind zwei Herzensprojekte von mir. Einmal das Langzeitprojekt „Listen to Lé Strasbourg“ (wir filmen seit 2009 für dieses Video) von und mit der Crew, die ich damals zusammen mit Homies aus meiner Heimatstadt gegründet habe. Und dann wäre da noch ein Homie-Video aus meiner neuen Heimat Leipzig. Das HD-Format hat mich bis heute noch nicht so ganz überzeugt. So ein gut gefilmtes VX Video flasht mich in den meisten Fällen einfach viel mehr. Die Vibes sind anders. Das rührt allein schon daher, dass dieser Skatesound von der VX so einzigartig eingefangen wird. Auf jeden Fall bin ich mit dem Christopher (Schübel) seit einigen Jahren des Öfteren auf Filmmission. Er ist ein super Skatebuddy, der einen immer motiviert und anstachelt Neues zu wagen und auf Reisen zu gehen. Mit ihm bleibt man nicht stehen sondern entwickelt sich weiter. Da Christopher für seine Parts meistens HD-Footage benötigte, ließ ich die VX dann zu Hause. Ich war auch super happy, als ich gesehen habe, dass ein Clip, den ich mit ihm gefilmte hatte, sein Part-Ender im Downright Video wurde. Es kam dann öfter mal vor, dass ich, nachdem wir einen Clip von Christopher eingetütet hatte, selber noch Bock hatte, einen Trick für die Cam zu performen. So habe ich über die letzten Jahre einige HD-Clips angesammelt. Unsere Filming Missions wurde immer intensiver und die Reisen führte uns dann auch in einige Skatemetropolen Europas: Mailand, Prag, Barcelona. Irgendwann im Laufe des letzten Jahres kam ich dann auf die Idee, einfach mal das ganze HD-Zeug zusammenzuschneiden und zu veröffentlichen. Also habe ich mich irgendwann Ende des Sommers letzten Jahres dazu entschlossen, nochmal Gas zu geben und diesmal gezielt und mit Ideen im Hinterkopf HD-Footage zu sammeln.

Christopher und du habt ja beide unglaubliche Tech Skills und man hätte sich manchmal gewünscht mehr von euch zu sehen. Aber was du bisher so erzählt hast, war Skateboarding für dich immer eher eine Nebenher Geschichte, oder?

Danke für die Blumen. Ich hatte in den ersten zehn Jahren seit ich Skate hier und da mal Berührungspunkte mit Sponsoren, Flowdeals und Contests. Während dieser Reihe an Erfahrungen bin ich zu dem Entschluss gekommen, dass ich mir niemals von irgendjemandem sagen lassen möchte, wie und wo ich zu skaten habe. Ich habe mir immer vor Augen geführt, was das für ein wahnsinniges Freiheitsgefühl war, als ich als Teenager zum ersten mal auf diesem Brett stand. Und dieses Feeling möchte ich mir einfach nicht nehmen lassen. Deshalb bin ich Skater geworden, deshalb möchte ich es auch bleiben. Der Freiheit wegen. Und klar, möchte ich hier auch niemandem irgendeine Art von Freiheitsberaubung unterstellen. Ich habe mich stets sehr gut aufgehoben gefühlt, bei allen Leuten, die mich über die Jahre supportet haben. Nur im Kopf macht es dann doch was mit einem, wenn man Free Stuff bekommt und das eigene Gewissen anklopft und sagt, man solle doch bitte eine Gegenleistung erbringen.

"Es gibt nach wie vor, auch Jahre nach der Wende, immer noch ein Ungleichgewicht zwischen Ost und West in der Szene."

Der Song im neuen Part heißt “Underdog”. Siehst du dich in der Rolle des Underdogs oder ist das sogar eine, in der du gerne bist?

Ich sehe mich schon eher in der Rolle des Underdogs und fühle mich auch recht wohl in dieser Haut. Ich denke, das ist generell so eine Sache hier in Ostdeutschland. Wenn man es zu etwas bringen will in der deutschen Szene, muss man wohl in den Westen oder nach Berlin ziehen. Ansonsten, wird man es als ostdeutscher Skater schwieriger haben, auf sich aufmerksam zu machen. Es gibt nach wie vor, auch Jahre nach der Wende, immer noch ein Ungleichgewicht zwischen Ost und West in der Szene. Selbst einen Skater wie Christopher Schübel zähle ich zu den Underdogs. Der Junge ist so krass talentiert und stylish unterwegs. Aber da er ein Kind des Ostens ist und auch noch bescheiden dazu, brauchte es erst einen Mike Carroll und Rick Howard, die ihn persönlich an den Warschauer Bänken entdeckt haben und ihm den Sponsordeal gaben, den er schon jahrelang verdient hat.

Du skatest im neuen Part einen Lidl Parkplatz. Was ist aus Penny geworden?

Den legendären Penny Parkplatz gibt es leider seit einigen Jahre nicht mehr. Der musste einem Bauvorhaben weichen. Ich muss leider auch feststellen, das damit die Szene in meiner Heimatstadt quasi ausgestorben ist. Es gibt keine Anlaufstelle mehr, keinen Mainspot. Die Skateparks sind mittlerweile auch alle runtergerockt.

Werbung
Werbung
Werbung
PRV

RASSVET - LILIAN

März 19, 2021
NXT

Rave Skateboards - Zen

März 18, 2021