is loading

"Like A Horse"

Posted in: Interviews

We called the call center in Barcelona. And lo and behold, we ran into the "Horse Crew". Our contacts were Robert Born and Klavs Laveniks.

Dominik Maul Bs Tail Shot by Klavs Laivenieksjpg

Dominik Maul by Klavs Laveniks

I met you now in Barcelona and I have not escaped your fable for horses of course. In addition, the video is called "like a horse". What is that all about?

Robert: When I came to Barcelona in September '17, I met Bart @jungenstach while skating and he said I skate "like a horse". After the session we had a kebab, he said I eat "like a horse". Later with some San Miguels at the Macba I drank "like a horse". It just happened that we made that our motto and instead of calling each other "My G", we call each other "my horse".

And that's how the "Horse Crew" was created. What does the crew have planned for the near future?


Robert: Be productive, go skating a lot and connect better. Apart from that, we are currently working on a small brand, but I don't want to say more than "Slide and Grind like a horse".

We are all excited about that. Do you all live in Barcelona and work in the call center?


Robert: Actually we all live in Barcelona. However, there are a few skaters from London, Berlin and Riga in the video who visited and went on a mission with Klavs. The majority of us are currently working in our home office, though not necessarily in customer support. We also have a graphic designer, teacher and content moderator among us.

Makes sense, as you can see from the funny intro graphic in the video. What is a day like for the Horse Crew in Barcelona?


Robert: First we work, then after work we meet at one of the hotspots and then we see where we want to go. On weekends or days off we meet early and go on mission. Those who are on Baja, like Wanja Bach at the moment, are lucky enough to be able to go on mission during the week.

Where are the so-called hotspots of the Horse Crew in Barcelona?


Robert: Everywhere, actually. During the week we are mostly at Born Plaza, W Hotel, WTC, Parallel, Uni and occasionally at Macba. Since Corona, however, the Macba is usually a bust, because there are too many people hanging around and the police kick you out.

Marin Perez Lipslide Shot by Klavs Laivenieks

Marin Perez by Klavs Laveniks

What is the most intense story you have ever experienced as a crew?

Robert: In October last year we were once a bit further away from the city than the Corona rules allowed. The spot had a clear sign that skating was prohibited there and was in the middle of an apartment block. Two homies must have skated 1-2 hours and stacked clips. When we have already packed up two police cars came, they have penned us and then controlled. There were eight of us, all without masks, outside the permitted area, at a spot where you are obviously not allowed to skate. Not everyone had a passport with them, which made everything even more difficult. Each of us was threatened with a fine of min. 1500€. Andrez, a native Panamanian with excellent negotiation skills, explained to the policemen in a reasonable way that we had no bad intentions. They let us go and we went straight back to the center, skated a little flat at the Macba and toasted to the day.

What are the weirdest things that have ever happened to you or your homies in the call center?

Klavs: When you work in website hosting support, you get some weird calls. There was one that was totally weird. I had a stripper/escort lady on the phone because your website was down. I checked a bit to see what the problem was and suddenly I noticed that she was talking to someone. I didn't think anything of it and suddenly realized that she was having a live webcam chat with a guy. I was then kind of a part of that chat because everyone could hear me trying to fix her website.

That sounds like a pretty fun day at work though. Is it possible to make a good living from the call center job in Barcelona (would you recommend that?)

Robert: Definitely. Since German and English are foreign languages here, it gives us a language bonus if we are hired for the appropriate market. Over time you gain experience and also qualify for other jobs with better conditions.

Have you ever had anything to do with horses yourself?

Robert: No, I have never ridden a horse either. I started skating with a buddy whose mother was a dressage rider. She was pretty famous and even met the Queen of England once, but otherwise I had nothing to do with horses.

If you try to find similarities, what do horses have in common with skating?

Robert: Horses don't stop, they keep going. When you skate "like a horse" you don't just stop, you keep going until you've done your trick. It's also a matter of attitude. You find a way to the goal, a hurdle is no problem for a horse.

The video is not 100% up to date. It was lying around on your hard drive for some time. What were the reasons for that?

Klavs: Yes, the video came out a year late. We had originally organized everything for the premiere and party last year in April. Three days after we had the location, the full lockdown started here in Spain. This put everything on hold because no one knew how serious the situation was and how long it would last, so we decided to wait. To finish the whole edit was not that easy, the lockdown made it very hard for us.

Tim Janke Bs Hurricane Shot by Klavs Laivenieks

Tim Janke by Klavs Laveniks

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
PRV

Hoddle Skateboards - "Heavy Mayo"

May 04, 2021
NXT

Question & Art: Sammy Montano

May 03, 2021

is loading

"Like A Horse"

Posted in: Interviews

Wir haben in Barcelona im Callcenter angerufen. Und siehe da, wir sind auf die "Horse Crew" getroffen. Unsere Ansprechpartner waren Robert Born und Klavs Laveniks.

Dominik Maul Bs Tail Shot by Klavs Laivenieksjpg

Dominik Maul by Klavs Laveniks

Ich hab dich ja jetzt in Barcelona kennengelernt und mir ist dein Fabel für Pferde natürlich nicht entgangen. Zusätzlich heisst das video „like a horse“. Was hat es damit auf sich?

Robert: Als ich im September ‘17 nach Barcelona kam, hab ich Bart @jungenstach beim skaten kennengelernt und er meinte ich skate “like a horse”. Nach der Session haben wir uns einen Kebab, einverleibt, da meinte er ich esse “like a horse”. Später mit paar San Miguels am Macba trank ich dann “like a horse”. Es hat sich dann einfach so ergeben dass wir das zu unserem Motto gemacht haben und anstatt uns gegenseitig mit “My G” anzusprechen, nennen wir uns “my horse”.

Und so entstand dann wohl auch die "Horse Crew". Was hat die Crew in naher zukunft so geplant?

Robert: Produktiv sein, viel skaten gehen und uns noch besser connecten. Ansonsten ist gerade auch ein kleines Brand in Arbeit, aber dazu möchte ich nicht mehr sagen als “Slide and Grind like a horse”.

Da sind wir alle gespannt. Wohnt ihr alle in Barcelona und arbeitet im Callcenter?

Robert: Wir wohnen eigentlich alle in Barcelona. Allerdings sind auch paar Skater aus London, Berlin und Riga im Video, die zu Besuch waren und mit Klavs auf Mission gegangen sind. Der Grossteil von uns arbeitet momentan im Homeoffice, allerdings nicht unbedingt im Kundensupport. Wir haben auch einen Grafikdesigner, Lehrer und Content-Moderator unter uns.

Macht Sinn, das sieht man auch an der lustigen Intro Grafik im Video. Wie sieht eigentlich so ein Tag der Horse Crew in Barcelona aus?

Robert: Erst mal arbeiten, nach Feierabend dann an einem der Hotspots treffen und dann schauen wo es uns hin zieht. An Wochenenden oder freien Tagen treffen wir uns früh und gehen auf Mission. Wer auf Baja ist, wie z.B. Wanja Bach momentan, hat das Glück auch unter der Woche auf Mission gehen zu können.

Wo sind denn die sogenannten Hotspots der Horse Crew in Barcelona?

Robert: Überall eigentlich. Unter der Woche sind wir meist am Born Plaza, W Hotel, WTC, Parallel, Uni und gelegentlich auch am Macba. Seit Corona ist das Macba jedoch meistens ein Bust, weil da zu viele Leute rumhängen und die Polizei einen rauskickt.

Marin Perez Lipslide Shot by Klavs Laivenieks

Marin Perez by Klavs Laveniks

Was ist die heftigste Story die ihr als Crew jemals erlebt habt?

Robert: Im Oktober letzten Jahres waren wir einmal etwas weiter von der Stadt entfernt, als es die Coronaregeln erlaubten. Der Spot hatte ein deutliches Schild, dass Skaten dort verboten ist und lag mitten in einem Wohnblock. Zwei Homies sind sicher 1-2 Stunden geskatet und haben Clips gestacked. Als wir schon zusammengepackt haben kamen zwei Polizeiwägen, die haben uns eingepfercht und daraufhin kontrolliert. Wir waren zu acht, alle ohne Maske, außerhalb vom erlaubten Aufenthaltsumkreis, an einem Spot an dem man offensichtlich nicht skaten darf. Nicht jeder hatte einen Perso oder Reisepass dabei, was alles noch erschwerte. Jedem von uns drohte eine Geldstrafe von min. 1500€. Andrez, gebürtiger Panamaer mit hervorragenden Negotiation-Skills, hat den Polizisten auf vernünftige Art und Weise erklärt, dass wir keine bösen Absichten hatten. Daraufhin haben Sie uns gehen lassen und wir sind auf direktem Wege zurück ins Zentrum und sind am Macba noch gediegen etwas Flat geskatet und haben auf den Tag angestoßen.

Was sind die weirdesten Sachen, die dir oder Homies je im Callcenter passiert sind?

Klavs: Wenn man im Website Hosting Support arbeitet, kriegt man einige komische Anrufe. Es gab einen, das war total weird. Ich hatte eine Stripperin/Escort-Lady am Telefon, weil Ihre Website down war. Ich hab dann bisschen gecheckt woran das lag und hab auf einmal gemerkt, dass sie sich mit jemandem unterhält. Ich hab mir nichts dabei gedacht und plötzlich realisiert, dass sie einen Webcam Live-Chat mit einem Typen am Laufen hatte. Ich war dann irgendwie ein Teil von diesem Chat, weil jeder hören konnte, wie ich versucht habe ihre Website zu fixen.

Das klingt aber nach einem recht lustigen Arbeitstag. Kann man vom Callcenter Job gut in Barcelona leben (würdest du das empfehlen?)

Robert: Auf jeden Fall. Da Deutsch und Englisch hier Fremdsprachen sind, erhalten wir dadurch einen Sprachbonus wenn wir für den entsprechenden Markt angestellt sind. Mit der Zeit sammelt man Erfahrung und qualifiziert sich auch für andere Jobs mit besseren Bedingungen.

Hast du selber mal was mit Pferden am Hut gehabt?

Robert: Nein, ich bin auch noch nie ein Pferd geritten. Ich hab damals mit einem Kumpel skaten angefangen, dessen Mutter Dressurreiterin war. Die war ziemlich berühmt und traf sogar mal die Queen von England, aber sonst hatte ich nichts mit Pferden am Hut gehabt.

Wenn du versuchst Ähnlichkeiten zu finden, was haben Pferde mit Skaten gemeinsam?

Robert: Horses don’t stop, they keep going. Wenn du “like a horse” skatest, hörst du nicht einfach auf, sondern ziehst es durch bis du deinen Trick gestanden hast. Das ist auch eine Sache der Einstellung. Man findet einen Weg zum Ziel, eine Hürde ist für ein Pferd kein Problem.

Das video ist ja nicht 100% aktuell. Es lag einige Zeit bei euch auf der Festplatte rum. Welche Gründe hatte das?

Klavs: Ja, das Video kam mit einer Verspätung von einem Jahr raus. Wir hatten ursprünglich alles für die Premiere und Party letztes Jahr im April organisiert. Drei Tage nach dem wir die Location hatten, begann hier in Spanien der volle Lockdown. Das hat erstmal alles auf Eis gelegt weil niemand wusste wie ernst die Lage ist und wie lang diese anhalten wird, sodass wir uns entschieden haben zu warten. Das ganze Edit dann fertig zu bearbeiten war dann auch nicht so einfach, der Lockdown hat uns ganz schön zu schaffen gemacht.

Tim Janke Bs Hurricane Shot by Klavs Laivenieks

Tim Janke by Klavs Laveniks

Werbung
Werbung
Werbung
PRV

Hoddle Skateboards - "Heavy Mayo"

Mai 04, 2021
NXT

Question & Art: Sammy Montano

Mai 03, 2021