is loading

Euro-SB 2019

I learned two things about Duisburg this weekend. First: Sinalco is from Duisburg. And second: A local from Duisburg collected 23.000 Euro bottle deposit at this years "Rock am Ring" festival. The purse at the Euro-SB contest wasn't that high but a few notes (10.000 to be correct) did go out to the boys and girls.

Dscf6837

Rob Rouleaux & Mark Frölich

If you skip the pre-quali (which is always a good idea) the contest started with a secret mission at the Olga Rails. These rails already witnessed many battles and slams. Some more should follow. Especially Diego Fiorese and Adrien Bulard threw themselves down the 12/16 combo. First it was about lines then about the single tricks. Diego did a boardslide with a following feeble on the big rail and Adrien worked hard on a blacktail at the "small" rail but after he didn't got the trick he went for a backlip at the big one. Sorry but my camera battery was already empty at this moment. Nevertheless I managed to capture the trick of the day for our Instagram story: A drop off the Titus van by Ruben Lücke which at this point also disappeared into the digital Nirvana. As we say it: long life print...

Dscf6882

Diego Fiorese – Boardslide

Dscf6907

Diego Fiorese – Feeble Grind

Dscf6913

Jan Hoffmann & Jost Arens

Saturday was packed with quality runs (inside the hall) and the hurly-burly of the Ruhr Games with Judo, Motorcross, High Jump, Speed climbing, BMX and a lot more (outside). Everything embedded in the "Landschaftspark Duisburg" (Too late fun fact number three about Duisburg: It seems to be one of the most beautiful city parks in the world) between blast furnaces and other metal stuff. The second day ended with a best trick contest at a rail which Adrien Bulard won with a Varialflip Frontboard Shuv-It. Sadly I again got no photo for you. And also no rose. But there was an Insta story. Those who know, know.

After all this there was a skate video night that transferred into a party. But the Ruhr Games organizers definition of party is a slightly different than the skateboarder’s definition. While DJ Mad worked on the turntables the time flew by and the lights got turned on. The night hasn't even started and the beer pull was empty. The growing displeasure was professionally prevented with cable ties and pushing by the lokal police. (No Insta story for this one but I guess Luther has something to say about the topic.) All curbs are beatiful, right?

Dscf6938

Bartosz Ciesielski – Backside Lipslide

Dscf6948

Video Night

Last day. The beer emergency was still a topic but Gentsch stayed cool and prevented the worst case scenario. But anyway, why we were here again? Ah yes, it was finals day. To make it short I tweak Gary Lineker quote: "A Skatecontest is a simple thing. People flip boards across the streetcourse and in the end Alex Mizurov wins the whole thing" (or Candy Jacobs). And there comes the question are they now the official European Champions? What this a European championship? But in the end it doesn’t matter anyway, cause would you want to tell everyone that you're the European Champion in something all the time? That would be annoying. But besides that: You should keep the name Alex Elfving in your mind.

At the very end it was barrel jump time. This time the supply situation with beer barrels was excellent. More barrels than competitors which was way too much for some people. After it the prize-giving ceremony followed (click here if you want to know who won) and it was a wrap.

Dscf7144

Denny Pham

Dscf7042

Justin Sommer

Dscf7061

Tonje Pedersen – Ollie One Foot

Dscf7044

Alex Felving – Backside Nosegrind

Dscf7043

Collateral Damage

Dscf7099

Bruno Senra – Frontside Flip

Dscf7055

Candy Jacobs – Crooked Grind

Blunt to fakie

Dscf7048

Frontside Ollie

Dscf7081

Alex Felving & Helge Tscharn at work

Dscf7064

Roos Zwetsloot

Dscf7078

Nosegrind Backside Revert

Dscf7096

Alex Felving – Nosegrind

Dscf7092

Alex Mizurov – Nollie Crooked Grind

Eric Hedberg

Dscf7110

Pat Duffy

The next event is coming soon: See you at the "Männerabend" (Bro Night). Will be sick!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
PRV

FuerteVentures

Jun 24, 2019
NXT

Homie Tape – Turtle Times episode 2

Jun 23, 2019

is loading

Euro-SB 2019

Dieses Wochenende hat mich zwei Dinge über Duisburg gelehrt. Erstens: Sinalco kommt aus Duisburg. Und Zweitens: Ein Duisburger hat beim Rock am Ring angeblich 23.000 Euro Pfand gesammelt. Ganz so viel Preisgeld gab es beim von Titus ausgerichteten Euro-SB Contest jetzt nicht, aber ein paar Scheine (genauer gesagt 10.000) wollten schon auch an den Mann bzw. die Frau gebracht werden.

Dscf6837

Rob Rouleaux & Mark Frölich

Blendet man die Pre-Quali aus (was immer eine gute Entscheidung ist), so startete alles mit einer Secret Spot Mission an den Olga Rails. Die haben schon einige Kämpfe und Slams erlebt und es sollten noch ein paar hinzukommen. Vor allem Diego Fiorese und Adrien Bulard warfen sich die 12er/16er Kombo runter. Erst ging es um Lines, dann um Einzeltricks. Diego kassierte richtig hart, bis er nach dem Boardslide auch noch Feeble am großen Rail landen konnte. Adrien seinerseits mühte sich lange und vergeblich mit Backtail am "kleinen" Rail (El Toro war anscheinend einfacher), bevor er dann einfach Backlip am großen machte. Sorry, aber mein Kamera Akku war zu dem Zeitpunkt schon leer… Egal, Trick des Tages war eh der Drop von Ruben Lücke vom Titus Van. Den hab ich immerhin für eine Insta Story erwischt. Die ist mittlerweile aber auch schon wieder im digitalen Nirvana verschwunden. Wir sagen es ja, lang lebe Print…

Dscf6882

Diego Fiorese – Boardslide

Dscf6907

Diego Fiorese – Feeble Grind

Dscf6913

Jan Hoffmann & Jost Arens

Der Samstag war voll mit Quali Runs (in der Halle) und dem Trubel der Ruhr Games (draußen) mit Judo, Motocross, Hochsprung, Speedklettern, BMX und was die aus 32 Ländern angereisten 5600 Athleten sonst nicht noch alles trieben. Die ganze Geschichte war eingebettet im Duisburger Landschaftspark (leider zu spät erfahrener dritter Duisburg Fact: angeblich einem der schönsten Stadtparks der Welt), zwischen den riesigen Hochöfen und anderem Metallgedöns. Zum Ende des Tages gab es einen Best Trick Contest am Rail, den Adrien Bulard mit Varialflip Frontboard Shuv-It gewann. Auch in diesem Fall habe ich leider kein Foto für dich. Auch keine Rose. Insta Story gab es wieder. Wer Bescheid weiß hat’s gesehen.

Danach war Skatevideonacht angesagt, die über ging in eine Party. Allerdings ist die Definition der Ruhr Games Organisatoren von Party ganz offensichtlich eine andere als die von Skateboardern. Während DJ Mad die Turntables bearbeitete ging die Zeit zu schnell rum und das Bier irgendwie alle, so dass man bevor die Nacht überhaupt richtig begonnen hatte vor einem trockenen Zapfhahn saß. Der dabei aufkeimende Unmut wurde vom Deeskalationsteam der hiesigen Wachtmeister mit Kabelbindern und Schubsen professionell unterbunden. (Hierzu gibt es leider keine Insta Story meinerseits, aber vielleicht hat Kollege Luther dazu ja was).

Dscf6938

Bartosz Ciesielski – Backside Lipslide

Dscf6948

Video Night

Letzter Tag. Biernotstand war immer noch ein Thema, konnte aber durch das beherzte Eingreifen von Genscht gemildert werden. Aber egal, um was ging es nochmal? Ach ja, Finale. Um es kurz zu machen, und in Anlehnung an Gary Lineker: “Skatecontests sind eine einfache Sache. Boards werden wild über die Streetfläche geflippt und am Ende gewinnt Alex Mizurov” (oder Candy Jacobs). Dabei stellt sich die Frage, dürfen sich die beiden jetzt offiziell Europameister/in nennen? War das eine waschechte Europameisterschaft? Irgendwie gar nicht nachgefragt. Aber im Grunde auch egal, man will ja den Leuten auch nicht ständig erzählen, dass man in irgendeinem Blödsinn Europameister ist. Wär ja voll nervig. Ansonsten: Den Namen Alex Elfving kann man sich getrost merken.

Zum Schluss war noch Barrel Jump angesagt. Hier war die Versorgungslage mit Bierfässern endlich ausgezeichnet. Gleich mehrere Fässer kamen auf einen Teilnehmer, was weit mehr war, als die meisten vertragen konnten. Dann war auch schon Schluss, Siegerehrung und we’re out. Wer die Namen der Gewinner erfahren möchte, der klickt hier.

Dscf7144

Denny Pham

Dscf7042

Justin Sommer

Dscf7061

Tonje Pedersen – Ollie One Foot

Dscf7044

Alex Felving – Backside Nosegrind

Dscf7043

Collateral Damage

Dscf7099

Bruno Senra – Frontside Flip

Dscf7055

Candy Jacobs – Crooked Grind

Dscf7081

Alex Felving & Helge Tscharn at work

Dscf7064

Roos Zwetsloot

Dscf7078

Nosegrind Backside Revert

Dscf7096

Alex Felving – Nosegrind

Dscf7092

Alex Mizurov – Nollie Crooked Grind

Nächstes Event steht schon an: Wir sehen uns beim Männerabend. Wird sick!

Werbung
Werbung
Werbung
PRV

FuerteVentures

Juni 24, 2019
NXT

Homie Tape – Turtle Times episode 2

Juni 23, 2019